Seventh Annual Conference of SIAMG - SIAMGCON 2022

After 2 years of online meetings and webinars, the 7th Annual conference of SIAMG -SIAMGCON 2022 - organised in Lucknow, was a sweet reminder of the privilege and joy of meeting and collaborating with colleagues that we had previously taken for granted. The theme for this year's conference: 'Genomic data for precision medicine: Global perspective on the role of genomics in health care' was aptly chosen as with the availability of large amount of genomic and clinical data there is an urgent need of establishing databases and systems for patient care in India.

The two-day conference was preceded by a hands-on workshop on interpretation of genomic variants conducted successfully by Dr Madhuri Hegde, Dr Sharon Plon, Dr Avni Santani and Dr Stepahnie Bielas.

Delegates from various parts of the country enjoyed spectacular talks by the national and international faculty. Dr Abhay Karandikar, Director of IIT-Kanpur, was the Chief Guest for the inaugural function. The Dr SS Agarwal oration was presented by Dr Andrea Superti Furga, Professor and Head, Division of Genetic Medicine, Lausanne, Switzerland. Dr Girish Katta received the prestigious Dr IC Verma Outstanding Researcher award. Dr Neethukrishna Kaustubham was awarded the Dr SS Agarwal Young Scientist award.

A thought-provoking symposium on prenatal, perinatal, and neonatal genetics: 'From the Womb to the Cradle' was organized for pediatricians and obstetricians on 11th December 2022.

Table The following are the prize winners of the oral paper and poster presentations:

	Paper presentation	Poster presentation
1 st prize	Shruti Pande, KMC Manipal	Mounika Endrakanti, AIIMS, New Delhi
2 st prize	Prajna Udupa,KMC Manipal	Anupriya Kaur, PGI, Chandigarh
3 st prize	Neha Quadri,KMC Manipal	Namanpreet Kaur, KMC Manipal
Consolation prize	Sudisha Dubey, SGRH, New Delhi	Sarah Bailur, Rainbow Children's Hospital
	Aman Kumar Suryan,CSIR-CCMB,	
	Hyderabad	Saurabh Vaish,SGPGIMS, Lucknow Suranjana Banik, AIIMS, Bhubaneshwar



Inaugural function



National and international faculty for SIAMGCON 2022



Pre-conference workshop held on 8th December 2022



Dr SS Agarwal Oration - 2022

The Dr Shyam S Agarwal Oration of the Society for Indian Academy of Medical Genetics (SIAMG) for the year 2022 was awarded to Dr Andrea Superti-Furga, Head of the Division of Genetic Medicine at the Lausanne University Hospital and Professor at the Faculty of Medicine and Biology of the University of Lausanne in Switzerland. Dr Superti-Furga is a world-renowned expert in the field of medical genetics. His clinical and research contributions in the areas of skeletal dysplasias, inherited disorders of connective tissue, inborn errors of metabolism and neurodevelopmental disorders have helped provide significant insights into the pathophysiology, diagnosis and management of these conditions and have led to the identification of many novel monogenic syndromes.



Dr I C Verma Outstanding Researcher Award - 2022

The Dr I C Verma Outstanding Researcher Award for 2022 was awarded to Dr Girisha KM, Professor of Genetics at the Sultan Qaboos University, Muscat, and Professor of Medical Genetics at the Kasturba Medical College, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Manipal. He was conferred the award in recognition of his valuable research contributions to the field of medical genetics in India, especially in the area of skeletal dysplasias



Launch of the GeneTOP Module at SIAMGCON 2022



Winners of the oral paper and poster presentations

The online training course developed by SIAMG called 'GeneTOP: Genetics & Genomics Training and Orientation Program' was launched by Professor I C Verma at SIAMGCON 2022. GeneTOP is a free online resource available for medical doctors.

It will provide an opportunity to medical practitioners to get basic training in clinical genetics

at their convenience from home. It can also be used by medical teachers for the training of their MBBS, MD and DM students. It will serve as the long-awaited online training program in medical genetics for all medical fraternity at various stages of their careers and belonging to any medical speciality.

Dr SS Agarwal Young Scientist Award

The Dr SS Agarwal Young Scientist Award was presented to Dr Neethukrishna Kausthubham from the Department of Medical Genetics, Kasturba Medical College, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, for her paper titled 'A data set of variants derived from 1455 clinical and research exomes is efficient in variant prioritization for early-onset monogenic disorders in Indians' published in the journal Human Mutation (Hum Mutat. 2021;42(4):e15-e61) under the guidance of Dr Girisha KM.